These Are The 2019 GRAY Award Winners

The judges, eleven leading architects and designers, selected this year’s winners in ten categories from a slew of standout submissions. Winners were announced at the third-annual GRAY Awards party on November 20.

White streamers were flowing on Wednesday, November 20, as the winners of the third-annual GRAY Awards were announced in ceremonious fashion at Seattle’s National Nordic Museum.

The cross-disciplinary awards program invited the best and brightest in the fields of architecture, interiors, design, and fashion to enter their work for a coveted opportunity: to be honored at the party of the year as one of the most exciting practitioners in design today. Judges included Mette and Rolf Hay, the husband-and-wife cofounders of Danish-inspired design company HAY; Johannes Carlström, interior architect and founder of Stockholm-based creative design agency Note Design Studio; Angie Myung and Ted Vadakan, husband-and-wife cofounders of Los Angeles-based design brand Poketo; Nicole Hollis, founder of her San Francisco-based eponymous interior design firm; Patrik Schumacher, principal at London-based Zaha Hadid Architects, who has been leading the firm since its founder’s passing in 2016; Paula Hayes, a New York visual artist and designer known for her large-scale public and private landscapes; Rafael de Cárdenas, founder of New York-based Rafael de Cárdenas/Architecture at Large and former menswear designer for Calvin Klein; Cassandra Hobbins, VP of Product Development for NSTO; and designer Yves Béhar, founder of San Francisco-based industrial design and branding firm Fuseproject. Together, they selected winners in the GRAY Awards’ 10 categories, listed below

The Winners



Furioso Vineyards by Waechter Architecture

Photographed by Lara Swimmer



High Desert Residence by Hacker Architects

Photographed by Jeremy Bittermann